grid reference TL 955 636
owner Hawthorn Leisureemail us
- 1130-1500, 1730-2300
listed building grade II
Local licensing authority for Tostock is Mid Suffolk
CAMRA West Suffolk & Borders branch.
last updated 17/06/2018
previously known as: Garden House, Gardeners' Arms
Real Ale is available here
Church Rd, IP30 9PA
Situated adjacent to the green, in the centre of a charming village just two miles off the A14, this fine 14th century building retains the original low beams and stone floor in the public bar. Darts, pool and crib are played here. The large lounge has a big open fireplace. Home cooked food is served in the potting shed and tasty snacks throughout the pub. The large enclosed garden and patio are wonderful for families in the summer.
It was renamed late-2014 or early-2015 at the time when the pub ceased to be a Greene King pub.
The pub's original name comes from Squire Gardener, who owned the village in the 14th century. It was changed about 2015 because the new owner was called Gardner.
The fireplace was reputedly built from stone taken from the abbey at Bury after it was torn down during the dissolution.
Beer served through handpulls
Lunchtime meals (not just snacks)
Separate public bar
Traditional pub games available
Bus stop nearby (see public transport tab for details)
Railway station about 2.4 miles away (see public transport tab for details)
Beer garden or other outside drinking area
(Most pub, location & historic details collated by Nigel, Tony or Keith - original sources are credited)
(1861 census information from Malcolm Fairley)