grid reference TM 424 767
opened 15th century
bar / dinerSomething we've got wrong about this establishment? Something more you think we should know about it? Please email us
- Mon-Sun: 1200-1430, 1800-2100
regular real ales
Adnams Southwold Bitter, Ghost Ship plus occasional Adnams seasonals
listed building grade II
Local licensing authority for Blyford is Waveney district
CAMRA North-East Suffolk branch.
last updated 27/07/2018
Blyford Queen's Head
Real Ale is available here
Southwold Rd, IP19 9JY
A picturesque old thatched inn with low beams and a large open fireplace in the bar area. The thatched roof is relatively new, having replaced one destroyed by fire in July 1988. Outside there is a large garden and children's play area and the pub keeps ducks, chickens and pigs.
The pub sign features St Etheldreda as the Queen. Her father was King Anna (c. 636 – 654 AD) of East Anglia, who was killed in battle at nearby Burcamp.
The building dates from the 15th or early 16th century and was known in the past as a smugglers' inn.
Lunchtime meals (not just snacks)
Restaurant or separate dining area
Separate public bar
Pub is accessible to disabled customers
Bus stop nearby (see public transport tab for details)
Railway station about 2.9 miles away (see public transport tab for details)
Quiet pub - no electronic games, piped music or jukebox
Beer garden or other outside drinking area
(Most pub, location & historic details collated by Nigel, Tony or Keith - original sources are credited)
(some old PO directory information courtesy of londonpublichouse.com)
(** historic newspaper information from Stuart Ansell)