The St, IP12 3PU
grid reference TM 389 522
owner Free House
bar / restaurant
- 11-3 & 6-11 (Thu, Fri & Sat)
- 12-10.30 (Sun)
- 1800-2300 (Thu-Fri & Sat)
regular real ales
Adnams bitter & Broadside
View in Google Earth
Local licensing authority for Chillesford is Suffolk Coastal
last updated 23/02/2015
A comfortable Free House and restaurant with integral locally sourced delicatessen shop. The building was converted into a pub in 1975. The large outdoor seating area is popular with walkers and cyclists in the summer. Disabled toilet. Not open on Mon, Tue or Wed. Disabled toilet.
The name, which as far as we can ascertain is unique, apparently comes from an Elizabethan filled pancake.
To make a Bacon Froize: take eight Eggs well beaten, and a little Cream, and a little Flour, and beat them well together to be like other Batter, then fry very thin slices of Bacon, and pour some of this over, then fry it, and turn the other side, and pour more upon that, so fry it and serve it to the Table.
Beer served through handpulls
Lunchtime meals (not just snacks)
Restaurant or separate dining area
Real coal or log fire
Children are welcome
Pub is accessible to disabled customers
Bus stop nearby (see public transport tab for details)
Beer garden or other outside drinking area
(Most pub, location & historic details collated by Nigel, Tony or Keith - original sources are credited)
Froize is a local name for a pancake which may be sweet or savoury and reputedly was a tradition fayre served by the monks at the nearby priory.