Southwold Centre Cliff
closed 1940 circa.
grid reference TM 509 760
View in Google Earth
CAMRA North-East Suffolk branch.
last updated 18/08/2015
In 1900 described as a charming hotel situated in its own grounds, extending to the sea the new wing (erected in 1899) consisting of an additional 30 bedrooms (nearly all with a sea view) & spacious hall 60 feet by 30 feet, enables the management to give an increased advantage to visitors. Bus to all trains; golf links within 3 minutes walk.
Used by the army in WW2 and later converted into flats.
(Most pub, location & historic details collated by Nigel, Tony or Keith - original sources are credited)
(some old PO directory information courtesy of londonpublichouse.com)